Social networking and the media

I recently attended the Midwest Journalism Conference in Bloomington, Minn., for the Society of Professional Journalists. I went to a session about social networking sites and how to use them to your benefit as a media writer. I was really excited about one new site they offered called Trendsmap, which shows the words trending in different regions. It sounded perfect for brainstorming story ideas. Unfortunately, I was disappointed when I checked out the site for myself. It only showed what words were trending in sports and politics – two things that I’m not particularly interested in.

Although, the session did open me up to new ways of using social networking sites for stories, such as getting contacts and doing further research. People spill a lot of information on Facebook and Twitter accounts, which is usually annoying but can be helpful when looking for contacts for a specific story.

How do you feel about incorporating social networking?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

