Amazed by others’ talents

One thing I love about journalism is that I get to meet people that are truly talented and passionate about what they do. This past month I’ve had the opportunity to talk to musicians about writing and making music, what inspires them and why they keep doing it. I’ve talked to artists about how they got started with their craft and how they’ve grown through their artwork.

One of my favorite stories so far was about recent high school graduate, Abby Schumacher. Abby has always loved fashion; this year, her art teacher challenged her to design and create her dress for senior prom. Although Abby had little-to-no experience sewing, she accepted the challenge. Starting from scratch, Abby designed and made her very own gorgeous dress for prom.

To read Abby’s full story, click here.

Abby’s courage, patience and talent truly amazed me, and I was so happy I got to write the story. I just know that this is only the first of many Abby Schumacher designs, and I can’t wait to see where she goes in life.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

